FR  EN  es


Share  |

The FIE was founded in 1913 in Paris.
The president and the members of the FIE Executive Committee are appointed by the FIE Congress, the annual meeting of member federations. The Executive Committee is composed of 16 members including the president, elected by the Congress, and 15 members of different nationalities, who are also elected by the Congress. 3 of them are women. The president in office of each of the five Confederations recognized by the FIE is a member with full rights of the Executive Committee.
The 2008 Paris Congress elected Mr Alisher Usmanov (RUS) as President of the FIE for 4 years. At the 2012 Electoral Congress in Moscow Mr Usmanov was re-elected to lead the federation for another four-year term.